• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• info on corolla

sorry if this has nothing to do with drifting, but what makes a
    corolla an sr-5?
    I'm lurking....
    no, I'm not ditching the chevette.

The SR5 is the none GT-S model. Im no corrolla expert but, The SR5 had drum brakes, open differential, 3umsomething or other SOHC 1.5 liter engine. its the so called AE85. As opposed to the 4Age powered LSD equiped, four wheel disk brake (i think? im almost certain) powered GT-S (AE86) um. toyota guys is that all right?

Comment

theyre all ae86 in america aparently. The SR-5 came with a carb'd 4ac, its a 4age block with sohc head and carbs. It wasn't specific to LSD as some came w/ some w/o, same with GT-S also. Not all GT-S were LSD. Drum brakes and different rear axle (?).

Comment

SR5 - AE86 Chassis (AE85 was NEVER offered in the states.)
        1.6 4a block/ crank(I think.. havent verified it)
        different pistons, head, carbed, rear drums, lower class interior (But better door panels), less decals (important to some of you), worse gas milage, 70 hp.. Mine has a valve lash problem.. which will be soon fixed with a 4ag.

GTS - AE86 Chassis (AE88 on the vin plate)
        1.6 4a block
        4 valve pistons (4 recessed areas where the valves would be instead of 2 for the 4ac), different head, fuel injected, different interior, disk rear brakes, offered with LSD, different gas tank, clutch lines, speedo gear, steering wheel, gauge cluster with Check Engine light (SR5 doesnt have this.. go figure)..

glad to be of assistance.

Comment

what i know of toyota chassis codes. and admitidly im a nissan guy, the second number is the model right? so the 4age powered japanese model was the 86 right? and the crummy engine model in japan was the 85? and you said the GTS in america was the 88, so whats the sr5?

Comment

all chassis in america were ae86.

Comment