Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drifting A Porsche Boxster?

hey all,
    Im new to drifting, but have been club racing and autocrossing for years. I have read all the threads about MR cars, but has anyone heard of drifting a Porsche Boxster. I know I need to get an S13 or the like , but for now all I have is the Boxster. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks, and see you all at D1 next week.

Someone tired to at Drift Showoff. Probably like the MR2.

Comment

If you get a copy of the Drift Bible, Keiichi Tsuchiya explains how to drift MR vehicles that tend to have pendulem-like oversteer. Basically he says that you need to contersteer, and do everything much sooner to catch the car before it over-rotates. The video features an MR2 to demonstrate MR techniques which like Chas said is probably pretty similar in terms of technique required.
      So, as long as you can afford to gamble with your teutonic sheetmetal and wheels go for it!

Comment

Seems like you got a fat enough bankroll. Buy yourself a 240. Then you can send me that TVR in your avatar.

Comment

Drift what you got man. Besides its rear wheel drive thats enough. Might be abit tougher, but you dont seem to be a new driver so dont worry. No need to buy a s13, unless you just want one.

Comment

Thanks for all the suggestions. I do have the drift bible, so I saw the MR section. I was mainly worried about trashing my car as it is my daily transportation. If anyone knows of an S13 in Nj for sale, please let me know. By the way, Ghost, I think Ill keep the TVR, its my baby. Not very good for drifting, too fragile. Maybe when we put the 340hp Ford 302 in her......

Comment