Go-kart drifting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Go-kart drifting

I've been racing go-karts for about two years, the idea of drifting came into my mind lately.
    From my experience, due to the short wheel base of a go-kart, the kart will spin out. Go-karts have rear brakes only, I think this also contribute to the spin out problem.
    I was wondering whether is it possible to drift on a go-kart.
    I have a Yamaha KT100 engine, the most powerful in it's class. I don't have to worry about the power department.
    I would try to add front brakes if it's possible...
    Any information?
    Thanks in advance.

when im in thailand...i rally go karts...its great fun but i cant hold a slide for more than 1 second...and it was hard to spin out in the dirt...its possible...download the GIXXERKART video or whatever...manual tranny go kart speed machine

Comment

Thanks!
      Yeah, I encountered the same problem when I tried to drift on the track. I wanted to drift around a hairpin to overtake someone on the track. I hit the brakes hard and I started to go side ways, but it never stopped... In the end I spun-out... Come to think about it, I feel so stupid trying that move...

I don't think my kart is the same as yours. The kart you raced in has a roll cage, right?

Comment

yeah..its like a dune buggy..my little couisins use the mini ones which are no fun...well when ur 10 its fun lol...i mean, i could get sidewayscome to think of it, but if the dirt was dry...id spin out cuz the ground was pretty hard...for dirt...it seems like dirt kart racing is a lot easier than tar mac

Comment

I have a video of my shifter cart drifting its pretty bad i thought it would be hard but it was alot of fun

Comment