complete newbie thinking about getting a drifter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• complete newbie thinking about getting a drifter

im a newbie at drifting, never even drifted before but i've been thinking of getting a drift cars, im not quite sure whats good or not but it looks like the 240sx is a popular car,

(QUESTION #1) I would like to know what kind of funds are needed for this sport?

starting from nothing, i know this is a vague question but starting from cost of the cars, getting it into proper shape, tires, etc, i'm not too sure whats involved.

(QUESTION #2) this might look like a stupid question but, could a car like the 240sx or other popular older drift cars be ok to use as your daily driving cars?

(QUESTION #3)do you need special tires for drifting or is it mostly a car type/car setup issue?

(QUESTION #4) Another thing, where can i actually drift legally in an organized place, in southern california (los angeles actually)

im really seriously thinking about getting a car, but still researching, anyways theres a event going on this week in fontana that i plan on attending to further research this, thanks alot, and thanks for reading this long *Censored**Censored**Censored* post

[EDITED]

Hmmm... lets see

1. Well, I'd say you need about 5k to start out, but some poepl would disagree. 5K would buy you a descent car, and would still alott you some money to fix it up and add a couple after market parts. If its your first car, then click here and read it. Its all about first cars. Tires can get expensive. So if you are loking in to drifting, I'd suggest buying a cheap maybe 25000 mile tires (about 50-75 bucks a pop at my local walmart super center) to learn on and save the life of the tires already on the car.

2. 240s are wonderful cars! I own a 300z and I'm thinking about buying a 240 for my cusin (though thats not official yet.) Any cars is great for daily use.