Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I want to drift in the USA!

Hi guys.

I've been thinking about this for over a year, and allthough chances are slim that someone here can help me out, I'd still like to write this, just in case...

The thing is: Drifting opportunities in Norway is still very limited. I've only drifted two times this year here in Norway! So to show my skills I went to the UK, where drifting is slowly getting bigger. I ended up winning the first ever D1 supported event in Europe, the Drift UK race in Birmingham. Ken Nomura was there to judge the event, and the Option team filmed it for their video.

Now, that opened some doors, but not much will happen before the D1 guys come to Europe for real, and that will probably not be until next year. By then, I'll be in a mental institution, drifting a white bed... I have so much to give, but sitting here makes me crazy.

Now, I've been racing since 1988, and have a lot of experience as a racingdriver. I've raced a little in UK and around Scandinavia. My biggets achievement was finishing 2nd in the Formula Ford festival in 1995, beating 96 drivers from 27 countries...After that success Norways biggest newspaper claimed that I was to be the first Norwegian F1 driver. Obviously that never happened. In fact, it'll probably never happen to any Norwegian driver, as getting sponsorship for racing is virtually impossible in Norway. With only four million people in the whole country, the only way to get sponsorship is by being a cross-country skier...

So I started drifting, and for the first time in my life I got recognition for my driving. People are coming up to me saying "damn, you're a good driver". My usual response is "I've been a good driver for 16 years...".