blowout vavle question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• blowout vavle question

alrite ima noob here to drifting atleast to all the mechanical stuff about it. such as this the "blowout vavle" im curious to know
    1]how it works and how its placed
    2]how it enhances your cars performance
    3]if its worth buying [and where](or what you have to do to get it)
    4]if this is a stupid question 0(^.^)0

I think you mean "Blow-off Vavle. or BOV

1) It removes extra boost from the turbo when you let off the gas. It is placed somewhere after the intercooler on the piping. It makes a sweet sound too!

2) get rid of boost pressure ?idk?

3) I would get it, but your going to need turbo.

4) Where did you get Blowout Vavle?

Someone Please Feel Free To Correct Me!

Comment

1) Removes excess boost from turbo when you let off gas or switch gears to let it spool more boost. It is placed somewhere around the piping, pretty complicated to explain. Depending on the manufacturer, it varies between sound to sound.

2) It enhances your car by releasing excess boost faster, so you can be able to spool more boost. It's more of a showoffy item if you want to get a really loud one but it has a nice sound that gets you ANNOYed eventually.

3) Its definitely necessary only if you have a turbo, the prices vary between manufacturers, you should do your research before asking.

It's spelled Blow-Off Valve.

Comment

So how does releasing boost help the performance of the car, don't we want more boost all the time?

Comment

Auspex and X7, Do either of you have Turbo cars?????

www.howstuffworks.com

Search Turbo

OR

go to www.google.com a SEARCH BOV

Don't ask until after you SEARCH!

Comment

Hrm, After reading the Howstuffworks article and searching on google, I'm still not sure about the BOV, is it the same as a wastegate?