Jdm Vs. Ldm

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jdm Vs. Ldm

Ok, I dont want to get of on a rant here.

I've been back at this for two years now and one word I keep hearing is "JDM" or Japanese domestic market, parts from japan. I've been a mechanic for 20+ years and in some cases i can see buying parts from other countries certain materials and manufacturing standards are different in other countries. For the life of me I cant understand the Mania about JDM.

For instance ebay lists a used Tein shock set in japan with mild rust. The same Tein set you can get online or from a friend across town.

Or a set of what would be the stock S14 brake rotors in japan. but when shipped to the US they are now JDM excitement.

Back in Harlem we called that the "Brick Switch". Change the box and sell it like its something else.

But like I said some stuff is well worth the extra step but it seems more of a bragging point than an actual technical advantage. not to mention when it breaks your f*&ked. No usable warranty.

Then again I could be wrong.

^ we always want what we can't have.

now i realize your argument .. and believe me i've been on my soapbox a number of times for the same thing. you have to realize too that 90% of the kids buying parts off of ebay are just "fanboys" and really are uneducated on the market. they are the same people that buy that $90 HKS "style" BOV, or the $250 "Bride" seats, and the $50 Apexi "style" muffler not knowing any better.

but, in general, i think that most of the JDM/EDM parts that are really coveted are the ones we have no replacement for here in the states and that are quite different from what you would see in your local town and therefore ultra rare, often even in their "homeland"....

for instance:

*S13/S15 headlights and conversion (which are actually more common at this point than i think flip-ups are haha)
    *Factory Emblems and Badging (especially the hard to find ones)