Setting Up a 2000 Camaro SS For Drifting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting Up a 2000 Camaro SS For Drifting

I have a 2000 Camaro SS and I am hopelessly hooked on this drifting thing, having gone to two D1 events at Infineon. Although my son is encouraging me to buy another S14 to replace the one he flipped, my Camaro is a paid for daily driver w/ 100K on it that about to get a major suspension and rear end rebuild. And since I've been driving it daily for 9 years, I know the car like the back of my hand and want to drift it bad.

It's clear from reading the posts here that while my Camaro, properly setup, won't likely win any drifting competitions, that's no problem because a) I have no skill drifting (yet), b) if I get good enough for the car to matter, I can get a S14 then, and c) I don't care because it will be incredibly fun.

The Camaro has a center console mounted e-brake, so that should be fine. I'll deal with my whooped and tired LS1 later, but I want to focus on suspension and rear end first.

So, my plan is to start by replace all the bushings w/ polyurethane, lower the car an inch or so w/ Eibach spings, and to load it up w/ QA1 adjustable shocks. The rear end is going to get upgraded, probably with a Moser, but my #1 question for now is:

What is the difference between a "Nismo 2-way LSD" and what I get out of a traditional American positraction rearend?

There are a bunch of different posi-type clusters that I can get with a custom rearend, and I want to make sure that I get the right thing when I pony up $2K+ for my new diff.

Has any one else set up a late model Camaro for drifting, how has it been, and what other suspension upgrades should I consider strongly?

Thanks,

EastBayBob

^ well you want to look for a LSD that uses clutch plates to control slip, a torsen or gear type is not what you are looking for.