Grip vs Drift

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grip vs Drift

I keep hearing on this forum that drifting is for show and fun but has little practicle application in racing. It is a given that due to rapid tire wear it is not practicle in circut racing but what about a simple a to b corner entrance to exit time and recovery. This is a subject that i am not an expert on but feel it needs to be discussed and settled with scientific a physical evidence that people apart of this forum may be able to provide.

not the right question for this forum.
    -reason being? ...a lot of speculations, and not real world experience.

Comment

Alot of people have mixed feelings on this. Mey personal take on it is that Drifting is rarely faster than grip during cornering. But there are times that it is better. If you did it in say a road race at Road Atlanta, you'd be blackflagged so fast or wrecked that it wouldn"t be funny. Grip is an entirely different monster than Drift. But I do believe that Grip need's be learned before you even think about Drifting. Grip teaches you an inordinate amount kn knowledge that you will use and modify for Drifting. It will also teach you car control and ease with your vehicle.

Because that first time you hang that rear end out, it is scary. I still feel a little kooky whenever I do.

Comment

not the right question for this forum.
        -reason being? ...a lot of speculations, and not real world experience.

exactly, so if noone here is skilled enough to compare, someone must know who is and ask them.

Comment

why are people so affraid of this subject

Comment

i would have to say drifting is only best on short tight swervy corners where u can slide around it faster then gripping would going from outside to inside

Comment