Go Back   DRIFTING.com > Off Topic > Off Topic Forum
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Gran Turismo 4

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-19-2004, 08:25 AM   #1
S13_Steve
Auto-Dori MASTAH!
 
S13_Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Marcos
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to S13_Steve
Gran Turismo 4

soo anybody know of the release date yet since i heard they have been setting the date back...... post pics too if u guys got any newer ones....thanx
S13_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 09:05 AM   #2
BL1TZ_W1NG
more then meets the eye
 
BL1TZ_W1NG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BRISTOL, UK
Posts: 317
i gave up trying to find out. they are saying it will be out when they think its 100% how they want it so it could be next week or next year

on the subject of GT4 ive herd a rumor that there will be a drift cup unlike NFS:U it will use the normal physics what do you guys think
BL1TZ_W1NG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:33 AM   #3
Drift For Food
OMG the ground's white!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 676
Send a message via AIM to Drift For Food
I'd definately hope it would use normal physic, not doing so would be foolish or possibly a grave mistake. I only with they'd port it to PC...alas, it will never happen
Drift For Food is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:40 AM   #4
Feint
htg
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 933
Quote:
Originally posted by Drift For Food
I'd definately hope it would use normal physic, not doing so would be foolish or possibly a grave mistake. I only with they'd port it to PC...alas, it will never happen
The physics will only be real to a certain degree.They need to keep an arcade touch to the game to attract enough buyers.
Feint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:40 AM   #5
prodigy
Broken 240sx
 
prodigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to prodigy
I heard the same, that is why I bought the Driving Force Pro steering wheel and pedals. Set me back a buck and a half but it turns 900 degrees, which is just like a car wheel and GT4 is the only game that you can use the 900 degree feature with. Oh, you can play the old racing games one it also. It switches back and forth.
prodigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:43 AM   #6
prodigy
Broken 240sx
 
prodigy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to prodigy
Quote:
Originally posted by Feint
The physics will only be real to a certain degree.They need to keep an arcade touch to the game to attract enough buyers.
I heard they are down grading the physics engine a little from the last one so you can drift more easily. So that should give you pretty much the idea of how it is going to play. Just think, online drift battles.
prodigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 10:52 AM   #7
Ghost of Duluth
Sixgun
 
Ghost of Duluth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 2,280
Send a message via AIM to Ghost of Duluth
Actually they are upgrading the engine. The current engine was a great engine for turning and going straight. The engine could not acurately replicate a Drift though. So they are modifying the new engine to take this into account. They are also going to have a Drifting event in the game. The new wheel is a 900 degree wheel but only in GT4 at the present time. It will be a neato game. If you go to put a pre-order on it, they tell you november I believe.
Ghost of Duluth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 11:03 AM   #8
GoukiS14
Subway Pervert FD
 
GoukiS14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Back in the U.S. but wishing he were back in Japan
Posts: 963
my friend said the license tests are super hard... and that fool is good..... oh well it'll make us better drivers (in gt4 that is)
GoukiS14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 11:11 AM   #9
S13_Steve
Auto-Dori MASTAH!
 
S13_Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Marcos
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to S13_Steve
as long as they still use the mya program.... im cool with it
S13_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 05:55 PM   #10
GoukiS14
Subway Pervert FD
 
GoukiS14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Back in the U.S. but wishing he were back in Japan
Posts: 963
they are using maya??? I didn't know that wow wouldn't you think they could get a little more detailed if they are using maya...
GoukiS14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004, 06:31 PM   #11
twcfc3s
Horny mofo's coast2coast
 
twcfc3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: mexicali, baja california. mexico
Posts: 915
as long i can get an FC3S and some good suspencion set-ups and some front lip and *Censored**Censored**Censored**Censored* like that its ok to mee.....ooh and something over tha 450hp!! peace
twcfc3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 10:12 AM   #12
Tsukai240
Registered User
 
Tsukai240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 30
I'd definately hope it would use normal physic, not doing so would be foolish or possibly a grave mistake. I only with they'd port it to PC...alas, it will never happen


it would not be dificult at all to make a drift cup in gt4. if i was a designer i would just take the rally car physics and put it on a smooth looking track. the make a tracer program to monitor your racing line. similar to the licence test in gt3. (not going into the grass or dirt) it would be easy it make.
Tsukai240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 10:25 AM   #13
snowblind
ATHF FOR LIFE!!!
 
snowblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: south metro suburbs/MN
Posts: 76
gt4 is going to be so good, it'll make you wanna slap yo mamma!! really though i can't wait, from what i've read drifting will defenitly be involved somehow, and there will be more "real" cars. I hope they bring back the used car section from gt2.
snowblind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 12:05 PM   #14
chrisfromda909
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Tsukai240
it would not be dificult at all to make a drift cup in gt4. if i was a designer i would just take the rally car physics and put it on a smooth looking track. the make a tracer program to monitor your racing line. similar to the licence test in gt3. (not going into the grass or dirt) it would be easy it make.
but then what about doing dirt drop initiated drifts? thats what i use a lot in gt2... i bet im the only one without a ps2...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 01:06 PM   #15
DriftingShadow
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
i was reading an interveiw with the director and he said that they might put in a drifting cup or something like that

but i am not sure

chrisfromda909 you are probably the only one without a Ps2
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2004, 01:11 PM   #16
MrodDrft
Dorifto Pic King
 
MrodDrft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,559
Send a message via AIM to MrodDrft
i dont have one either... but i have a great pc.. so that means more LFS for me har har har har

PS i jus borrow my friends ps2 to get some gt3 action
MrodDrft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2004, 06:29 PM   #17
pure_drift
slide riders
 
pure_drift's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 87
Drifting is so amzing in that game...

my 1085hp supra drifts really crazy...

and my trueno is aight really fun tho... i think 300hp
pure_drift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 10:22 AM   #18
mranlet
Smokes Dynamite
 
mranlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa, CT, all over the place!
Posts: 1,090
The drifting in GT3 is (I think) pretty good for a console game.

In Japan the beta of the full game is already out, I'm sure that there are some write-ups of the physics, etc.

I've paid for the game as of last Nov. and they claim that this November is the release date but still uncertian.

I would gladly wait another several months for a D1 cup (as long as it's like old gureilla D1 and not new Americanized all-advertising uber-expensive D1).

GT-series is why I got a PS2, it's a plus that it plays DVDs though...

-MR
mranlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 10:34 AM   #19
BL1TZ_W1NG
more then meets the eye
 
BL1TZ_W1NG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BRISTOL, UK
Posts: 317
the one thing i wish they would put back in is the race colour scheme thing (you pay like 70,000 creds and you get uber JDM logo's)
BL1TZ_W1NG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 11:36 AM   #20
twcfc3s
Horny mofo's coast2coast
 
twcfc3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: mexicali, baja california. mexico
Posts: 915
i just wanted now..!!
twcfc3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 11:50 AM   #21
DoriAltis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 237
I got to play a little bit of "Prologue" when I traveled overseas 2 months ago. It is a large step up. I only played the Tsukuba circuit course with a G35. The handling's almost foreign to someone used to GT3(prob just me), sometimes it doesn't even seem like you're turning, e-brake is more true to reality(more for correcting your angle than whipping your car around corners), etc. The graphics are dead on real though, I'm really looking forward to it coming out in the states so I can figure it all out
DoriAltis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 12:14 PM   #22
RallyGT
Domestic Drifter
 
RallyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 463
Send a message via AIM to RallyGT
I dont know about you guys, but GT2 is the best of them all. the car selection is amazing, like every drift car ever is on it. and the physics are awesome. you can drift good in that game, especially on the rally races. Mines EVO 5 Ownz
RallyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 12:21 PM   #23
twcfc3s
Horny mofo's coast2coast
 
twcfc3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: mexicali, baja california. mexico
Posts: 915
a big buuuuuuu!! for gt2 graphics!!!
twcfc3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 12:22 PM   #24
RallyGT
Domestic Drifter
 
RallyGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 463
Send a message via AIM to RallyGT
Graphics are crap, but its a good game you gotta admit that
RallyGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2004, 12:30 PM   #25
twcfc3s
Horny mofo's coast2coast
 
twcfc3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: mexicali, baja california. mexico
Posts: 915
hahaha lol... yeah you got me there i admit it..!!lol

hahahha crap=lol
twcfc3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.